I Love My Life. Do You Love Yours?

Today was one of those days. I had a great afternoon talking to a complete stranger about life. It all started with me saying hello to her beautiful little puppy. We started talking about raising puppies, then it went to children, and the conversation went on and on. I talked to her for about an hour while she taught her little puppy to sit and shake and to not bite hands.

Anyway, we talked about things that we have done in life and what we would like to do. Bucket list? I don’t have one and don’t plan on making one. Why should I?

I started to think about what I have done, what I have enjoyed, what I haven’t enjoyed, and what I might do differently. Then I thought long and hard about what I might do differently. I decided that I would not change a thing.

I have led a very blessed life. Sure it could have been better, but I wouldn’t be the same person that I am today if it had been better. Sure, it could have been worse, but I wouldn’t be the same person that I am today if it were worse. I love the person that I am today. Flaws and all, I think I am a pretty good person.

The conversation made me think back over the years and remember some of the many things that I have done in my life. Some of the more interesting things that I have done in my life include:

  • Chasing a sand shark while snorkeling – but he was only about 4 feet long, so I don’t think it was too dangerous
  • Walking from the Atlantic to the Pacific ocean (I really did that, of course it was completely against my desire at the time)
  • Hanging from the wing strut of a plane at about 8,000 feet while singing happy birthday to a friend
  • Jumping from several aircraft of all types including a couple of jets (and landing without breaking a bone every single time although I really screwed up my back once when I had to land on a highway)
  • Flying in a helicopter at extremely high speeds and low altitudes with the doors off
  • Driving a stock car on an actual race track
  • Bribing a police officer in a foreign nation with only $4 USD in my pocket
  • Dancing on stage at a strip club (don’t tell my wife that story)
  • Dancing with a clown (btw, I am a terrible dancer)
  • Riding a mountain bike way too close to a momma bear
  • Crashing a mountain bike and finding myself in rehab for several months
  • Getting lost in the jungle for over five days
  • Wrestling an anaconda – I had help with this one
  • Body surfing in Puerto Rico
  • Crowd surfing in Seattle
  • Losing a Jeep in a river
  • Sleeping in a small river or large stream depending on the definition – ok, I was only about 2/3rds of the way in the river
  • Running away from a troupe of monkeys
  • Climbing a tree to get away from a wild boar and then sleeping in the tree

I have had the joy of traveling to several countries in Central and South America as well as a few in Europe. I could go on for a good bit, but I thought it would be fun to highlight some of the more unusual ones. Of course, there are many things that I can’t say that I did for valid reasons as well as because there are some things that I done that I am not proud to admit. However, I have to say that even those times where I did not do nice things, it has resulted in helping me be a better person.

I am truly blessed with a wife of over 27 years and two great kids as well as a great bunch of friends around the world.

When I look at it all, I am amazed that I have never broken a bone. Never. True, I have one really badly screwed up knee from when I dropped my motorcycle a few years ago, and I have had to have a few stitches over the years, but overall, I have been pretty lucky and have certainly been blessed.

How could I not love my life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

