I Shattered my iPhone 4 Back Cover

I was seriously ticked off the other day. I was getting out of my car, and slid my phone into my pocket. Well, I should say that I “attempted” to slide it into my pocket. Instead, it fell about two and a half feet and hit the ground perfectly flat on its back.

I knew what that sound meant when the phone hit the ground. I cringed. The back piece on the phone shattered into a gazillion pieces.

The more I thought about it, the more pissed off I got. Not that I dropped the phone, but that the materials chosen by Apple really don’t take into account that it is a mobile device and mobile devices get dropped all the time. They knew when they designed the phone and chose the materials for the phone that it could not withstand the basic rigors of the life of a mobile device. If you go to Apple’s site, they promote that the “engineered glass” is 20 times stiffer and 30 times harder than plastic. If you read the site, http://www.apple.com/iphone/design/, they make it sound like the material is extremely tough and a great choice for the manufacturing instead of plastic like they used in the 3GS model. Well, I call BS on this. If it was so much better, there is no way that it would have shattered into a gazillion pieces after being dropped from such a low height.

Some friends said that I was stupid for being upset. After all, it is made of glass, and it is well publicized that there is a problem with the glass. Well, to me, the material selection was poorly done, and Apple should be held liable for their negligence. Also, I purchased the iPhone 4 very early on, and there were no reports about the back cover being easily broken. If Apple hadn’t stressed how awesome the glass was and touted its toughness, I might cut them some slack. It is clear that Apple chose the material because it looks really nice. It does. It is absolutely a beautiful device. However, it doesn’t meet the standard for durability that I would expect for a mobile device. After all, who else has built an entire phone, MP3 player, or other mobile device completely out of glass?

Other friends said that I am crazy for not buying a case for the phone. Well, that is a stupid solution. It is an effing mobile device. It should be well built. It should be built to withstand the rigors of a mobile device. Apple designed it to be pretty. Why in the world would I want to wrap it up in an ugly rubber or plastic case? That makes no sense. Obviously, if Apple thought that it wasn’t tough enough to withstand every day rigor, they would have said so and would have supplied a case. Apple never said that the device was extremely fragile and should be wrapped in bubble wrap.

Metal-iPhone-4-Cover-Protects-Your-iPhone-4-Without-the-Bulk-of-a-Case What is ironic about this whole situation is that I had ordered a replacement back cover for the iPhone 4 as soon as I heard it was available. It is a really nice looking brushed aluminum and the picture of it is right here. At this point, I had heard all of the stories about the back cover being easily broken. After seeing the pictures of the new back cover and adding the concern about it being more durable as well as very nice looking, it was a no-brainer to me to order the new back cover. I ordered the new back cover over a week ago, then broke my phone before it arrived. Such is life. The new cover is currently sitting at the Post Office waiting for me to pick it up. I have to go there and sign for it and will do that first thing Monday morning.

I still went and got a replacement glass back cover in case I ever need to swap out my phone for another reason such as a hardware failure. It was $99 for the replacement glass. The aluminum piece in the picture was under $10. Hmmm, which makes more sense?

Anyways, I just had to vent.

This entry was posted in General Geek Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

