Green Chili Recipe

It is Christmas Eve eve, the 23rd. This is the day where I do most of my prep work for Christmas Eve when we will have dozens of people in our home making tamales and eating multiple wonderful treats.
 
So, it is time for my Chili Verde. I have worked for years on this recipe, but it really is not difficult at all. So here is what you need:
 
  •  
    •  
      • Two large cans of Mild Hatch’s Green Chili (27oz cans for 54oz total) – During the summer, I use freshly roasted green chiles, but that just isn’t an option in the Winter months. When I have some nice and hot green chili, I will mix it with a can of Hatch’s mild.
      • Two medium onions, diced nice and fine.
      • 4-5 good size cloves of garlic. Please understand the difference between a bulb and a clove.
      • One large can (28oz) of stewed and diced tomatoes. You can use two smaller cans (12-14 oz) instead. I squish them up.
      • 3-4 lbs of lean pork cut into small cubes.
      • One small can (4oz) of diced hot jalepenos. I skip the jalepenos when I have good hot green chili.
      • One Cup flour.
      • Salt.
      • Water – I never measure this, but I add enough water to cover all the ingredients and about an inch or two over the top of the ingredients. I would guess it is about 8 cups.
  1. Saute the onions.
  2. Grind up the garlic and add it to the onions. I sometimes just run it through a food processor when I am too lazy to grind them up on my rock.
  3. Brown the pork in a extremely large pot or pan and then add the onions and garlic to the pork. Cook it to about 3/4 done.
  4. Dice the green chile and then add it to the pork mix. 
  5. Squish the tomatoes so they resemble small crushed pieces and add them to the mix.
  6. Add the diced jalepenos. You may want to ony add half the can and see how hot it is before you add the rest. Again, I skip the jalepenos when I have hot green chili on hand.
  7. Add about two quarts of water and simmer the mixture. I usually let is simmer on medium until it starts to boil then turn it down a bit and let it continue simmering for about 2 hours because I like the pork to reach the stage where it is falling apart.
  8. Mix one cup of flour with 2-3 cups of water, blend well, and add to the mixture. Let simmer for another 30-45 minutes.
  9. Add salt to taste.
  10. Add more jalepenos to taste.

This recipe makes a huge pot of green chile, so you might want to halve everything.

This entry was posted in Recipe Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Chili Recipe

  1. Ryan Bolz says:

    Can’t wait to give this a try! Thanks for sharing Russ.

  2. Russ Kaufmann says:

    I have done a few more mods to this recipe. In particular, I have replaced the flour with corn masa for thickening.

Leave a Reply

